Test shoot – out of place

Brighton test shots contact sheet ahhh_Page_1Brighton test shots contact sheet ahhh_Page_2

 

 

Due to the nature of my project I need to take a lot of test photographs so that I can get a better sense of how to properly depict the desired feelings of feeling ‘out of place’ into my photographs. these were taken to try and capture things/objects that don’t quite ‘fit’ for a feeling of confusion and uneasiness. Obviously these are just experiments and will probably not make the final project! Below is a more in-depth analysis of some of them:

 

IMG_4301

I like how the black bird in the background is somewhat overshadowed by the commanding presence of the sea gulls in the foreground. The black bird is obviously separate from the group, and this organic moment provided a good representation of some of the feelings I wanted to evoke.

IMG_4314

Although not matching with my project exactly, I wanted to capture this moment due to the seperation the two peole have – one being bathed in sunlight, and the other in complete darkness

IMG_4324

The heart shaped balloon is adrift amongst a crowd of an otherwise unaware crowd – I felt it did well to capture a sense of not belonging. If I were to have a black and white theme to my project I would grey out everything except for the balloon and make the red colour a lot more prominent. However, I do not which to undergoe black and white, and so for consistency decided not to here.

IMG_4326

Just an experimentation with ‘out of place’. I used a large pebble and placed it on a bollard using a low depth of field, and having the sunset in the background illuminate it as a silhouette.

IMG_4335 IMG_4342

 

Both photographs here are obviously objects that do not belong in the environment they were photographed. I used a wide angle with a low depth of field to focus on the coins to highlight that they do not belong in this environment, and are consequently out of place.

Again, these are all just experiments for the initial plan to take images of general objects that do not belong. However, in future I aim to take more photographs using objects associtated with the cultures I intend to depict, as it gives the image more context and adds further meaning.

Leave a comment