In-depth photo plan – Out of place

Below is a more in-depth plan for the set of 6 or so photographs I plan to take for my project, and are more than likely to change when undergoing test shoots!:

1: Something subtly out of place that evokes a sense of confusion/uneasiness in the viewer (undecided if cultural objects will be introduced at this stage

2: Something more obviously out of place (i.e. chess pieces on backgammon board etc) with subtle references to Turkish culture

3: introduction of culture in an out of place setting – using objects

4: Perspective shot of mini Turkish rug – introduction of my silhouette in the distance so it almost looks as if I am standing on the rug which appears to be full size (highlighting sense of distance/disconnect with the culture). The person will most likely be me (or at the very least represent me) but the identity will not be revealed at this stage (i.e. a silhouette)

5: Me closer to the camera in a typical British-type setting (maybe Cathedral – perhaps wearing/holding something associated with turkish culture).

6: Self-portrait double exposure – uncomfortable expression (perhaps looking down?) – background will be of something British (maybe cathedral, flap, big ben, cultural objects etc) – whereas superimposed on my face will be something very culturally Turkish. This will hopefully present a stark contrast and create tension to evoke a sense of how I feel.

My intention with this series of photographs is to subtly evoke a sense of confusion and uneasiness that slowly reveals itself to stem from my lack of cultural identity. The first few images will show things that ‘stick out’ and are obviously not quite right. They will be associated with cultural objects (i.e. Turkish and British) that hopefully will encompass this sense of being out of place. The latter half of the series will introduce me into the photographs and will gradually reveal at the end (with the double exposure portrait) the true reasons for this lack of belonging with a complete clash of the two cultures overlaid onto my own expression.

Leave a comment